Office 1.1

Here goes the most FAQ of my life(well, take that with a grain of salt, would you?):

“Why don’t you have a girlfriend?”

This question has been following me ever since I hit puberty. Classmates at school, in college and now colleagues at work ask me the SAME DARN QUESTION. They do not seem to back off when they see that I am not at all interested in answering it for them.

There was this classmate in college, he also happened to be the guy who was mostly seated right next to me in the lab sessions, who always took an active interest in my experience at relationships. I tried convincing him that it was never the priority for me, and I was not saying so that I would not need to answer his question, but he did not take NO for an answer! How irritating is that?!

Moreover, he would persist:

“There must have been someone, right?”

“You do have crushes. Don’t you?”

I wanted to tell him that during my first days in college I had had a crush on you, but never mind as I got over it the moment you started asking me stupid questions. Lol.

 

Like the good boy that I am, was and will always be(wink); I was sitting quietly in the pantry area of my office. A colleague walked in and on seeing me there with my cup of tea, alone, texting away… he commented: “Looks like work is really chill at the moment. You get to have coffee and leisure time!”.

 

I replied by stating the truth, I am a good boy after all(wink), that I have been staying up all night working on official assignments. So, we should not assume that work is light.

 

He dismissed it casually saying:

HIM: “Staying up all night working on office stuff or chatting with your girlfriend?”

ME: “Office office. In order to chat with my girlfriend, I should have one in the first place!”

HIM: “Okay.. I will believe you.”

ME: “You have to. Cuz I am such a nice guy!”

HIM: “Yes, you are. It’s written across your face.”

 

THE END.

 

 

Leave a Reply

